American Gods cancelled after season 3

American Gods S3American Gods season three will be its last.

Starz has cancelled the television adaptation of Neil Gaiman’s fantasy novel, according to a report by Variety. Although it will not return for another series, the network may consider an event series or movie to wrap up the storyline. The third season recently concluded after ten episodes. The third season focuses on Shadow Moon (played by Ricky Whittle) settling down in a small Wisconsin town called Lakeside in order to avoid confronting the destiny and to involve himself in his father, Odin’s grand plans. But he somehow still gets embroiled in the ongoing struggles between the Old Gods and the New Gods.

A spokesperson from Starz made the announcement, saying:

American Gods will not return for a fourth season. Everyone at Starz is grateful to the dedicated cast and crew, and our partners at Fremantle who brought author and executive producer Neil Gaiman’s ever-relevant story to life that speaks to the cultural climate of our country.”

American Gods had four showrunners over its three seasons, with original showrunners Bryan Fuller and Michael Green leaving after issues with producer Fremantle. Jesse Alexander was the showrunner for season two and then Charles “Chic” Eglee took over for season three. There were also many controversies with the cast behind the scenes, with various cast members leaving the show.

American Gods stars Ricky Whittle (The 100) as Shadow Moon,  Ian McShane (Deadwood) as Mr. Wednesday, Emily Browning (Sucker Punch) as Laura Moon, Yetide Badaki (Aquarius) as Bilquis, Bruce Langley (Deadly Waters) as Technical Boy, Crispin Glover (Back to the Future) as Mr. World, Cloris Leachman (Raising Hope) as Zorya Vechernyaya, Peter Stormare (Fargo) as Czernobog, Mousa Kraish (Superbad) as The Jinn, Omid Abtahi (Argo) as Salim, Chris Obi (Snow White and the Huntsman) as Anubis, and Demore Barnes (Waco) as Mr. Ibis.