‘Runaways’ series in development for Hulu

RunawaysFor years we’ve been telling people that our #1 choice for a Marvel Comic to be developed into a TV series would be Runaways. Well, guess what? It’s happening.

Hulu will join ABC, Netflix, and Freeform in the MCU family with a series based on the popular comic series from creators Brian K. Vaughan and Adrian Alphona. The series tells the story of a group of teenagers who discover their parents are part of an evil crime organization, and they, well, runaway.

Gossip Girl creators Josh Schwartz & Stephanie Savage are developing the series. Currently the order consists of a pilot and several scripts, with a view to eventually go to series. As this process appears to just be beginning, we clearly don’t have a release date in view.

The press release from Marvel:

Every teenager thinks their parents are evil. What if you found out they actually were? “Marvel’s Runaways” is the story of six diverse teenagers who can barely stand each other but who must unite against a common foe–their parents.
“We’ve known the Runaways’ story would make great television,” said Jeph Loeb, Executive Producer and Head of Marvel Television, “and being lucky enough to have Josh and Stephanie–who have time and again created shows that speak so genuinely to this exact audience–write and produce the series is nothing short of remarkable.”
“I’m a long-time fan of Runaways and couldn’t be more excited to bring Brian and Adrian’s characters to life,” said Schwartz.
Adds Savage, “Josh and I can’t wait to get to work for Marvel and Hulu.”
Marvel’s Runaways” is Executive Produced by series Co-Showrunners/writers Josh Schwartz and Stephanie Savage (“The O.C.”, “Gossip Girl”) along with Marvel’s Head of Television, Jeph Loeb (“Marvel’s Jessica Jones,” “Marvel’s Luke Cage”) and Jim Chory (“Marvel’s Daredevil,” “Marvel’s Jessica Jones.”) “Fake Empire’s” Lis Rowinski will produce as well.   “Marvel’s Runaways” is a co-production with ABC Signature Studios.
“Marvel’s Runaways” for Hulu is based on the comic created by the award-winning team of Brian K. Vaughan and Adrian Alphona.