Saturn Special Awards recipients announced

nichelle-nichols-uhura-star-trek SaturnThe Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films just revealed the list of recipients for the Special Awards to be presented during the 42nd Annual Saturn Awards ceremony in June.

Founded in 1972 by Dr. Donald A. Reed, the Academy has always aimed to honor and recognize films that have been overlooked by mainstream award-giving bodies. The Academy has also widened its scope to include recognizing excellence in television and home entertainment, and to pay particular attention to genres including adventure, thriller, and action.

This year, the Special Awards recipients are the following:

Nichelle Nichols, Lt. Uhura herself, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for her contributions to Star Trek, the musical arts, and genre entertainment, as well as her support of NASA and space exploration. This will coincide with the 50th Anniversary of the Star Trek franchise.

Supergirl SaturnSimon Kinberg will receive the George Pal Memorial Award for his prolific body of work as a screenwriter/producer which includes: Mr. & Mrs. Smith, Sherlock Holmes, The Martian, Deadpool, the X-men films and the Star Wars sagas.

Melissa Benoist will receive the Breakthrough Performance Award for her excellent portrayal of Kara Danvers/Supergirl on Supergirl. Her heroic performance has made her a positive role model to boys and girls of all ages.

Eric Kripke, TV writer and producer, will receive the Dan Curtis Legacy Award, for his work on various series such as Supernatural, Revolution, and the upcoming Time.

Brannon Braga will receive the Special Recognition Award for his work on three Star Trek TV series: Star Trek: The Next Generation, Star Trek: Voyager, Star Trek: Enterprise and the feature films Star Trek: Generations and Star Trek: First Contact. He is currently working on the TV series Salem.

Better Call Saul SaturnBetter Call Saul will receive the Spotlight Award which recognizes excellence in television. The series, created by Vince Gilligan and Peter Gould, has moved beyond being a spinoff of the critically-lauded Breaking Bad and become an outstanding series in its own right. Through top notch writing and impressive performances from its talented cast including Bob Odenkirk, Jonathan Banks, Rhea Seehorn and Michael McKean, Better Call Saul has become truly high quality television.

All these special awards will be presented during the ceremony for the 42nd Annual Saturn Awards which will be hosted by John Barrowman (Torchwood, Doctor Who, Arrow.) The ceremony will take place on June 22 in Burbank, California.

For a complete list of this year’s Saturn Awards nominees, click HERE.