New cast members for Westworld


Image credit: HBO

The cast for HBO’s upcoming sci-fi drama continues to expand as several new members were added this week. Clifton Collins, Jr. (Pacific Rim), Eion Bailey (Band of Brothers), Jimmi Simpson (House of Cards), and Sidse Babbett Knudsen (Borgen) are set to play intriguing new roles in this series adaptation of the Michael Crichton’s thriller about androids going berserk at a fantasy-fulfilling theme park.

This news follows the departure of Miranda Otto (Lord of the Rings) from the show. Though she was part of the show’s pilot, according to Entertainment Weekly, she quietly left the series as the producers re-conceived the role. She has, however, become a part of the fifth season of Showtime’s Homeland.

Here are the official descriptions of the new characters:

Eion Bailey as Logan, a “louche bachelor and veteran Westworld guest. His hedonistic romp through Westworld is equally motivated by self-indulgence and a desire to help his friend, William.”

Jimmi Simpson plays William, a “reluctant first time visitor to Westworld, joining his friend, Logan. Initially dismissive of the park’s more lascivious attractions, he slowly uncovers a deeper meaning to the park’s narrative.”

Clifton Collins, Jr. plays Lawrence, a “charming but lethal outlaw, with a knack for maneuvering and negotiating the various criminal elements of Westworld.”

Sidse Babbett Knudsen plays Theresa Cullen, “Westworld’s terse operations leader, responsible for keeping the park from sliding into unscripted chaos.” This replaces the role that Otto originally played in the pilot.

They will be joining current Westworld stars, James Marsden, Evan Rachel Wood, Thandie Newton, Anthony Hopkins, Jeffrey Wright, and Ed Harris.

Westworld is set to be released in 2016.

Tags: ,