The 41st Annual Saturn Awards List of Winners

The Saturn Awards is one of our favorite events every year, being huge fans of genre entertainment that is often (shamefully) overlooked at the rest of the Awards shows. This year Comic Books won big time, and stars from The Flash, The Walking Dead, and more came out to celebrate!

The 41st Annual Saturn Awards were held in Burbank, California.  The guest list
totaled over 500 and included many top film and television industry leaders as well
as enthusiastic fans, leaders, and members of our illustrious organization.

Several special awards were presented throughout the evening to artists who work
in the film and television field.

Receiving the Dan Curtis Legacy Award was writer/producer Carlton Cuse who
recently wrote the screenplay for the successful film, San Andreas.   He is the
creator and executive producer of The Strain and Bates Motel.

Bob Cobert received The Life Career Award for his generous contribution to the
Arts through his music composition.  His body of work includes Dark Shadows,
The Winds of War, The Night Stalker, Trilogy of Terror, and several game show
themes including The $25,000 Pyramid and Tic  Tac Dough.

Noah Wyle was bestowed The Artists Showcase Award which recognizes his
achievements in film, television, and live stage productions.

The Breakthrough Performance Award was presented to Grant Gustin for his
electrifying performance as Barry Allen / The Flash on the hit series of the
same name.

Television series Continuum was awarded The Special Recognition Award
for bringing quality entertainment to television through its superlative acting,
spirited direction, and compelling writing.

The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films is a non-profit
organization designed to honor, promote and recognize genre entertainment.
Through the Saturn Awards, the organization has become a distinctive group in
presenting awards of excellence to genre entertainment and entertainment which
showcases high quality in other genres of interest in film and television.  The
Academy was founded by Dr. Donald A. Reed in 1972.

To view our live press conference on Youtube follow the link provided.  We
are aware of the two errors in this live stream broadcast which we apologize for.

The link to view the press conference:

The Winners are:

Best Comic Book-to-Film Release: Guardians of the Galaxy
Best Science Fiction Film Release: Interstellar
Best Fantasy Film Release: The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
Best Horror Film Release: Dracula Untold
Best Thriller Film Release: Gone Girl
Best Action / Adventure Film Release: Unbroken
Best Actor in a Film: Chris Pratt, Guardians of the Galaxy
Best Actress in a Film: Rosemund Pike, Gone Girl
Best Supporting Actor in a Film: Richard Armitage, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
Best Supporting Actress in a Film: Rene Russo, Nightcrawler
Best Performance by a Younger Actor in a Film: MacKenzie Foy, Interstellar
Best Film Director: James Gunn, Guardians of the Galaxy
Best Film Writing: Interstellar, Christopher Nolan, Jonathan Nolan
Best Film Editing: Edge of Tomorrow, James Herbert, Laura Jennings
Best Film Production Design: Interstellar, Nathan Crowley
Best Film Music: Interstellar, Hans Zimmer
Best Film Costume: Dracula Untold, Ngila Dickson
Best Film Make-Up: Guardians of the Galaxy, David White, Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou
Best Film Special/Visual Effects: Interstellar, Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian  Hunter, Scott Fisher
Best Independent Film Release: Whiplash
Best International Film Release: The Theory of Everything
Best Animated Film Release: The LEGO Movie

Best Network Television Series: Hannibal
Best Syndicated / Cable Television Series: The Walking Dead
Best Limited Run Television Series: Game of Thrones
Best Superhero Adaptation Television Series: The Flash
Best Youth-Oriented Television Series: The 100
Best Actor in a Television Series: Hugh Dancy, Hannibal and Andrew Lincoln, The Walking Dead
Best Actress in a Television Series: Caitronia Balfe, Outlander
Best Supporting Actor in a Television Series: Laurence Fishburne, Hannibal
Best Supporting Actress in a Television Series: Melissa McBride, The Walking Dead
Best Performance by a Younger Actor in a Television Series: Maisie Williams, Game of Thrones
Best Guest Performance in a Television Series: Wentworth Miller, The Flash

Best DVD/BD Release: Odd Thomas
Best DVD/BD Special Edition Release: Nightbreed: The Director’s Cut
Best DVD/BD Television Release: Twin Peaks: The Entire Mystery
Best DVD/BD Collection Release: Halloween: The Complete Collection

Here’s a photo gallery of some of Thursday’s Winners & Presenters. Look for interviews on the site next week!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.