Major Changes Heading To DC Comics This June

In a press announcement released earlier today, DC Comics announced a line-wide restructuring of their comic books will take place this June 2015. Parting ways with their “New 52” branding, DC Comics will continue to release 25 ongoing titles and will have 24 new titles debuting in June 2015. This move is an effort to attract new readers and provide comics for all audiences. DC Comics co-publisher Dan Dido said the following in regards to DC’s restructuring:

This heralds in a new era for the DC Universe which will allow us to publish something for everyone, be more expansive and modern in our approach and tell stories that better reflect the society around us. Whether you’ve been a DC fan your whole life, or whether you are new to comics – there will be a book for you beginning in June.

This move will take place immediately after DC’s upcoming Convergence crossover event, which will see the villain Braniac bring together different universes from throughout all of DC Comics history. Additionally, DC will release a Free Comic Book Day issue titled Divergence, which will give readers a first look at upcoming story lines. Readers will be able to find Divergence and other Free Comic Book Day titles at participating comic book stores May 2, 2015.

The list of DC’s new and continuing titles, as well as their creative teams, is as follows:

  • New Titles
    • Batman Beyond – W: Dan Jurgens, A: Bernard Chang
    • Bat-Mite (6-issue limited) – W: Dan Jurgens, A: Corin Howel
    • Bizarro (6-issue limited) – W: Heath Corson, A: Gustavo Duarte
    • Black Canary – W: Brenden Fletcher, A: Annie Wu & Irene Koh
    • Constantine: The Hellblazer – W: Ming Doyle, A: Riley Rossmo
    • Cyborg – W: David Walker, A: Ivan Reis
    • Dark Universe – W: James Tynion IV, A: Ming Doyle
    • Green Lantern: Lost Army – W: Cullen Bunn, A: Jesus Saiz & Javi Pina
    • Doomed – W: Scott Lobdell, A: Javier Fernandez
    • Earth 2: Society – W: Daniel Wilson, A: Jorge Jimenez
    • Dr. Fate – W: Paul Levitz, A: Sonny Liew
    • Harley Quinn/Power Girl (6-issue limited) – W: Jimmy Palmiotti & Amanda Conner, A: Stephane Roux
    • Justice League of America – W: Bryan Hitch, A: Bryan Hitch
    • Justice League 3001 – W: Keith Giffen, A: Howard Porter
    • Martian Manhunter – W: Rob Williams, A: Ben Oliver
    • Midnighter – W: Steve Orlando, A: ACO
    • Mystic U – W: Alisa Kwitney, A: Stay tuned for artist info!
    • Omega Men – W: Tom King, A: Alec Morgan
    • Prez – W: Mark Russell, A: Ben Caldwell
    • Red Hood/Arsenal – W: Scott Lobdell, A: Denis Medri
    • Robin, Son of Batman – W: Patrick Gleason, A: Patrick Gleason
    • Section Eight (6-issue limited) – W: Garth Ennis, A: John McCrea
    • Starfire – W: Jimmy Palmiotti & Amanda Conner, A: Emanuela Lupacchino
    • We Are Robin – W: Lee Bermejo, A: Khary Randolph
  • Continuing Titles
    • Action Comics – W: Greg Pak, A: Aaron Kuder
    • Aquaman – W: Cullen Bunn, A: Trevor McCarthy
    • Batgirl – W: Cameron Stewart & Brenden Fletcher, A: Babs Tarr
    • Batman – W: Scott Snyder, A: Greg Capullo
    • Detective Comics – W; Brian Buccelato & Francis Manapul, A: Francis Manapul
    • Batman/Superman – W: Greg Pak, A: Ardian Syaf
    • Catwoman – W: Genevieve Valentine, A: David Messina
    • Deathstroke – W: Tony S. Daniel, A: Tony S. Daniel
    • The Flash – W: Robert Venditti & Van Jensen, A: Brett Booth
    • Gotham Academy – W: Becky Cloonan & Brenden Fletcher, A: Karl Kerschl
    • Gotham By Midnight – W: Ray Fawkes, A: Juan Ferreyra
    • Grayson – W: Tom King & Tim Seeley, A: Mikel Janin
    • Green Arrow – W: Robert Venditti, A: Billy Tan
    • Harley Quinn – W: Jimmy Palmiotti & Amanda Conner, A: Chad Hardin
    • Justice League – W: Geoff Johns, A: Jason Fabok
    • Justice League United – Stay tuned for creative team info!
    • Lobo – W: Cullen Bunn, A: Cliff Richards
    • Secret Six – W: Gail Simone, A: Dale Eaglesham
    • Sinestro – W: Cullen Bunn, A: Bradley Walker
    • New Suicide Squad – W: Sean Ryan, A: Carlos D’Anda
    • Superman – W: Gene Luen Yang, A: John Romita, Jr.
    • Superman/Wonder Woman – W: Peter J. Tomasi, A: Doug Mahnke
    • Teen Titans – W: Will Pfeifer, A: Kenneth Rocafort
    • Wonder Woman – W: Meredith Finch, A: David Finch

Well, there you have it! Say goodbye to The New 52 and say hello to whatever DC’s going to call this. Hopefully if you’re an avid DC reader or someone just entering the world of comic books, there will be something for you to enjoy from the publisher. Check out DC’s slew of newly released cover art and concept sketches for these upcoming projects below, and feel free to let us know your thoughts. What new titles from DC are you interested in pursuing? Are there any previously ongoing titles you’re sorry to see cancelled? Tell us in the comments.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sources: 1, 2

Tags: ,