Marvel to Reprint Dark Horse’s Previously Released ‘Star Wars’ Comics

Star Wars Vol. 1 Empire

Star Wars: The Empire Vol. 1

Marvel Comics has recently obtained the comic book rights to Star Wars leading Dark Horse Comics to finish their current runs on their Star Wars titles. As of right now Marvel has two new ongoing Star Wars titles of their own in the works including Star Wars by Jason Aaron and John Cassaday and Star Wars: Darth Vader by Kieron Gillen and Salvador Larroca, and a five-issue mini-series titled Star Wars: Princess Leia by Mark Waid and Terry Dodson.

Beginning in 2015, Marvel will begin reprinting Dark Horse’s Star Wars comics into collected volumes branded as “Legends.” “Legends” is the term being used for any Star Wars related works not canonical with George Lucas’ original Star Wars trilogy and prequel trilogy, or any of J.J. Abrams’ upcoming sequels. The first 440-page volume entitled Star Wars: The Empire will collect the following issues which originally took place after the events of Episode III – Revenge of the Sith:

  • Star Wars: Republic #78-#80
  • Star Wars: Purge #1
  • Star Wars: Purge – Seconds to Die #1
  • Star Wars: Purge – The Hidden Blade #1
  • Star Wars: Purge – The Tyrant’s Fist #1-#2
  • Star Wars: Darth Vader and the Lost Command #1-#5
  • Star Wars: Dark Times #1-#5

Regarding this move by Marvel, David Gabriel, Marvel’s Senior Vice President of sales and marketing, states, “We’re thrilled to be bringing our innovative Epic Collections to a galaxy far, far away. We’ll be bouncing around to different periods of Star Wars history with each Epic Collection, constructing one huge tapestry, collecting full unbroken runs of all the greatest Star Wars comics from the past 35 years.

Star Wars: The Empire Vol. 1 will be priced at $34.99 and is slated to be released in April of 2015. Would this be a collection you’d be interested in purchasing? Feel free to let us know your thoughts in the comments.