Walt Disney Records’ Legacy Collection: The Lion King

Walt Disney Records is releasing a new line of collectible soundtracks called The Legacy Collection.  These soundtracks are going to be released in celebration of Disney movie milestones and will include eleven popular film soundtracks and one album marking the opening of Disneyland.

The first collectible was released on June 24, in commemoration of the 20th anniversary of The Lion King. Included in the set are lyrics, liner notes from the composer and producer, and a two-disc soundtrack that includes an extra 30 minutes of score. The set is made to look like a book for easy display and artwork is interspersed between lyrics. The discs are held in a cardboard sleeve fold out that is connected to the back cover. You can purchase it from MyPlayDirect or Amazon.

The tentative release schedule for the rest of the collection is:

  • Mary Poppins, 50th anniversary, 8/26/14
  • Sleeping Beauty, 55th anniversary, 10/7/14
  • The Little Mermaid, 25th anniversary, 11/17/14
  • Fantasia, 75th anniversary, 1/3/15
  • Pinocchio, 75th anniversary, 2/3/15
  • Toy Story, 20th anniversary, 3/17/15
  • Disneyland, 60th anniversary, 4/7/15
  • Lady and the Tramp, 60th anniversary, 6/23/15
  • Aristocats, 45th anniversary, 8/14/15
  • Cinderella, 65th anniversary, 8/14/15